It’s heartbreaking to hear from a friend or loved one that they have been diagnosed with some form of cancer. If upon learning the news you go through a range of emotions—from shock to sadness to anger to fear—well, then just imagine what your friend must be feeling themselves. It’s only natural that when a loved one is going through a health struggle like cancer, we want to support them in any way possible. We want to be a physical presence in their life to assist them, but still need to respect their personal boundaries as they navigate a major change in their life. Sometimes, the best thing we can do is send a thoughtful handwritten note in a get-well card to let them know that we are thinking of them. But even then, it can often be difficult to find the right words to express your intentions. To help you out, we have put together some messages for cancer patients that you can write in a get-well card, text message, or email. This list of 100 things to write in a get-well card for cancer patients includes uplifting messages to cheer them on as they go through chemotherapy, funny wisecracks to share with a friend who has a good sense of humor about their disease, thoughtful things you can say to someone whose disease has sadly progressed to being terminal, and even notes that you can write to the patient’s caretaker to let them know that they are in your thoughts as well.

100 get-well wishes for cancer patients

Well wishes for friends fighting cancer

  1. This must be a really tough time for you, but I wanted to let you know that I’m so impressed by your courage and endurance.
  2. You are so determined to beat this cancer, and I’m so proud of you. You are an inspiration to everyone around you!
  3. The road ahead of you looks scary, but I wanted to let you know that we are here to support you every step of the way.
  4. You have faced every doctor’s appointment with grace and strength, and I am in awe of how strong you are!
  5. I want to be here for you in any way that I can. Is it okay with you if I schedule a cleaning service to come in next week?
  6. I have no doubt that you will tackle cancer the same way you have every other obstacle in your life: with grit and determination and your fierce I’ve-got-this attitude!
  7. When the day comes that you are cancer-free, I will be there to celebrate right alongside you. Keep up that positive attitude because you’ve got this.
  8. Don’t think about it like you are dying from cancer; you are living with cancer. And one day, you’ll be living without it!
  9. Cancer picked the wrong diva to mess with! I am so sorry you are going through this, but I know you will fight it with all that you have.
  10. When I’m having a bad day, I think of you and your positive attitude. You are such an inspiration, and I am so blessed to have you in my life.
  11. The best way to fight cancer is to take it one day at a time. You are always taking care of everyone around you, but you need to focus on yourself right now. Stay positive and know that we all are cheering you on.
  12. If you are feeling up for it on Saturday, I’d love to take you for something to eat. Tell me where you want to go, and I will be there to pick you up!
  13. You are so much stronger than you think. Keep on fighting and don’t give up.
  14. I know you feel overwhelmed right now with everything that is happening, I hope things will get easier.
  15. We wanted to let you know that you are not alone, and we love and care about you so much.
  16. I am so sorry to hear about your cancer diagnosis. I am here to support you in any way that I can and have no doubt that you will be back to your usual self one day soon.
  17. I want you to focus on getting well. Tell me what chores need to be done at the house and I will do them for you so you don’t have to think about it.
  18. Would you like a ride to your doctor’s appointment this week? I’d like to drive you if that would be helpful.
  19. I want to do whatever I can to help make your life a little easier for you. Mow your lawn? Go grocery shopping? Take the dog to the vet?
  20. Cry. Yell. Laugh. That’s what friends are for, so don’t be afraid to call on me, okay?
  21. Here’s to you—I hope that you get steadier, stronger, and better every day.
  22. Just wanted to write you a note to wish you love and strength during this difficult time. Sending you healthy thoughts!
  23. You are in everyone’s thoughts during this difficult time. Take it easy and do whatever you need to do to feel better.
  24. Even in the toughest of times, you continue to inspire me. I can’t wait for you to get well so we can hang out again!
  25. As if cancer stands a chance against you! It’s clearly picked the wrong person to mess with.
  26. You are not alone in this fight. You have a huge crowd of friends and family standing by your side. Remember how much we all love you.
  27. I am struggling to find the right words to write on this card, so I’ll just say this: I’ll always be here for you.
  28. No matter what life has thrown at you in the past, you have survived it. And I know you are going to beat cancer, too.
  29. How are you doing? If you would like to talk about it, I am always here, and you can call me anytime.
  30. You are not facing cancer alone. We will get through this together.
  31. Never, never, never give up.
  32. I don’t know exactly what to say, but please know how much I care about you and love you.
  33. I am so sorry this is happening to you. You have the best doctor around, and friends and family who love and support you, and we will help you get through this.
  34. This journey has been a rocky one, and I know there have been times when you’ve wanted to give up. But take a look behind you and see how far you’ve come. You are amazing.
  35. Never stop believing in your extraordinary inner strength. It has brought you this far and will guide you as you beat this cancer!
  36. Where can I learn more about what you are going through? Are there books or websites you can recommend to me?
  37. The journey towards recovery is a rocky one, but with the constant love and support from your friends and family, you will reach your destination!

Get-well messages for chemo treatment

  1. Each day is one day closer to being done with your chemotherapy! I’m counting down right along with you.
  2. Sending good vibes and positive thoughts your way as you start your chemo. I hope the things in this gift basket help you pass the time during treatment.
  3. Today is it! Your last day of chemotherapy treatment!
  4. It seems like forever ago that you began chemo, and now you are so close to the finish line! I can’t wait to celebrate with you once it’s all over!
  5. Sending positive thoughts your way every day, and I know that one day soon you will get to ring that cancer bell!
  6. You have been fighting cancer for so long, and now you are in the home stretch. Your treatments are almost done! Yay! That is a reason to celebrate!
  7. I know you have been through so many emotional ups and downs during your treatment, especially when you lost your hair. But I don’t want you to ever forget how beautiful you are.
  8. I’m sending good vibes and healing energy your way as you start chemo! I know this has been a difficult time for you, and I wanted to let you know that you are all of your friends and family are rooting for a speedy recovery.
  9. I have seen how difficult going through chemo has been for you and you may not feel like you’re doing well, but to me, you are the most courageous person I know.
  10. Remember how far you’ve come in your fight against this awful disease, not just how far you have to go. You may not be where you want to be, but you are a long way from where you used to be.

Encouraging messages for terminal patients

  1. I am so sorry you haven’t been feeling as good lately. I just wanted you to know how much I love you and that I am here for you.
  2. I can’t imagine how hard this has all been for you to deal with, especially after such a long road of treatments. I know how scared you are, and I am praying that you find some peace in the days ahead.
  3. Please know that I pray for you every day. I know that you and [partner] have so much on your minds right now. I want to try to make things easier for you, so I’ll drop off some meals on Tuesday for you guys and the kids so that is one less thing you need to worry about.
  4. Writing you this note to let you know how much I admire you. We think about you often and are so proud of you.
  5. I saw the most beautiful rainbow today and it reminded me of how much you love rainbows yourself.
  6. I wish I could take this pain away from you. You’ve been on my mind a lot lately, and I’m sending you a virtual hug.
  7. How are you holding up? If you are up for visitors, I’d love to come over tomorrow and bring you some soup. Or would you like a pizza from your favorite restaurant?
  8. I wish I could come to visit you in the hospital, but they are restricting visitors due to the pandemic. Just know that I would be there if they’d let me in, and in the meantime, you have all of my thoughts and prayers.

Well wishes for cancer patients in remission

  1. Wow, what great news! I am so happy for you.
  2. See these tears? Happy tears! You worked so hard to beat cancer, and I couldn’t be more thrilled that you did it.
  3. I had no doubt that you would kick cancer in the behind!
  4. Take a deep breath and enjoy this wonderful news. You deserve it.
  5. How do you feel after getting this news? Today is a good day.

Religious get-well messages for cancer patients

  1. Every day, I pray that God watches over you and continues to give you the strength to fight this battle. I can’t imagine how exhausted you are from struggling with all of this, and I am so inspired by your bravery.
  2. Always remember that God is your helper and protector. I will continue to pray that He restores your good health.
  3. You’ve probably wondered to yourself why this is happening to you. God will never give us more than we can handle. He knows you are a warrior, and so do I.
  4. There is power in faith. Have faith that God will watch over you and protect you.
  5. Whenever God brings you to something, He makes sure that He will bring you through it.
  6. May the peace and comfort of God surround you during this challenging time.
  7. I am praying that you find strength in the Lord and his never-ending supply of love as you undergo treatment.
  8. While we cannot see God, we can know of His faithfulness to us during the hard times as well as the good.
  9. I’m praying for you to feel God’s comfort and presence while you are recovering. May He strengthen your heart and be the answer to all your needs.
  10. May the hand of the Lord rest upon you as you recover from your recent surgery and heal.
  11. May God hold you up and give you the strength to go through each day as you fight this battle.

Get-well wishes for kids fighting cancer

72, So many people are cheering you on! You’re smart, brave, and very, very loved. Hang in there! 73. I know you aren’t feeling well, kiddo, but I wanted you to know that you are the bravest boy I know. 74. Your mom told me that you are scared of the doctors. But think of the doctors and nurses as the superheroes who are going to help you feel better. 75. When you get out of the hospital, we are going to have the best tea party ever when you get home! So get as much rest as you can now so you are ready to wear your crown, Princess! 76. It’s no fun being sick. But you have to take your medicine so you can fight the cancer and get back to playing baseball, Slugger! 77. I’m sorry you are feeling icky right now. We hope that cuddling this new teddy bear will help you feel a little better! 78. Is the medicine that the doctors and nurses are giving you making you feel better? I hope so because we can’t wait until you are home again!

Humorous get-well wishes for cancer patients

  1. Well, there is one positive thing to your diagnosis: Now you can play the cancer card!
  2. I know you are worried about losing your hair, but it can’t make you look any worse than that at-home perm Mom gave you in 1988!
  3. I promise never to refer to your illness as a “journey”. Unless someone is taking you on a cruise of course.
  4. Your brain is so huge you had room for a tumor!
  5. Since you’ve been diagnosed with cancer, can you smoke weed legally now?
  6. One more chemo session down! Let’s celebrate with something that doesn’t taste disgusting.
  7. They say laughter is the best medicine. Unless you have cancer, in which case chemotherapy is much more effective.
  8. Chemo sucks. But if it sucks the cancer out of you, then… yay!
  9. Let’s take our herbal tea and yoga lessons seriously and give your cancer a hard time. And remember—bald is beautiful!
  10. Sure, life just handed you a big bowl of lemons. Instead of making lemonade, I say we make lemon drop punch.
  11. When you come to the end of your rope… tie a knot and hang on. I’m not ready for you to let go yet!
  12. I bought you these healing crystals. I don’t think they actually do anything, but they’re pretty, and they make great weapons. I thought you’d appreciate that.
  13. I know you said you wanted to start dressing up more. My bad, I assumed you meant evening gowns and not hospital gowns.

Get-well messages for a cancer relapse

  1. It must be so exhausting to go through this process again. Please know that I am here to support you in any way. How about I drop off some groceries for you and the family this weekend?
  2. I can’t begin to imagine what you are feeling right now, especially since I saw how much you went through before. It must be so frustrating and disappointing, and I am so sorry that it is happening again. Do you want to talk about it?
  3. Getting news like this, after all that you went through, must be so difficult and scary. I am praying for your health.
  4. Hearing the news was such a shock to me, so I can’t even fathom what it must have been like for you. I won’t pretend that I understand your pain because I can’t. So just know that I am here if you ever want to talk about it. Or just have someone to keep you company.

Encouraging messages for cancer caretakers

  1. I know how hard it has been for you, going back and forth between taking Ben to his chemo treatments and taking care of the kids at home. Let me help you with driving him to his appointments next week.
  2. This has been so difficult for your family, and I am so sorry that you have to go through this. You have been keeping up a brave front, but I wanted to make sure that you know I am here for you if you ever need to let off steam.
  3. Please don’t forget to take care of yourself while you are taking care of Jen. I’ve seen how great you are with trying to handle everything, but you deserve some “me time” for yourself.
  4. I know it’s so hard to see Will in so much pain. But I have faith that one day, you are both going to look back at this time and appreciate how much strength you both had in fighting this disease.
  5. How about Joe and I take the kids for a night this weekend so you can get some extra rest? Next, read… 25 Life-Saving Facts About Cancer101 Inspirational Quotes For Cancer PatientsA Guide For Cancer Caregivers

100 Get Well Wishes for Cancer Patients - 32100 Get Well Wishes for Cancer Patients - 68100 Get Well Wishes for Cancer Patients - 49100 Get Well Wishes for Cancer Patients - 19100 Get Well Wishes for Cancer Patients - 82100 Get Well Wishes for Cancer Patients - 82