“I have chosen not to attend any event around this movie for two reasons," the “Ironic” singer said in a statement on Sept. 14. “One is that I am on tour right now. The other is that, not unlike many ‘stories’ and unauthorized biographies out there over the years, this one includes implications and facts that are simply not true. While there is beauty and some elements of accuracy in this/my story to be sure—I ultimately won’t be supporting someone else’s reductive take on a story much too nuanced for them to ever grasp or tell.” In a statement to The Los Angeles Times, Morissette further said that her interviews for the project were filmed during her “third postpartum depression during lockdown,” adding, “I was lulled into a false sense of security and their salacious agenda became apparent immediately upon my seeing the first cut of the film. This is when I knew our visions were in fact painfully diverged. This was not the story I agreed to tell. I sit here now experiencing the full impact of having trusted someone who did not warrant being trusted.” Morissette didn’t elaborate on what parts of the film she felt misrepresented her story. Jagged director Alison Klayman told Deadlineof Morissette’s reaction to the film and her absence from its premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival, “It’s a really hard thing, I think, to see a movie made about yourself. I think she’s incredibly brave and the reaction when she saw it was that it was a really—she could feel all the work, all the nuance that went into it. And again, she gave so much of her time and so much of her effort into making this and I think that the movie really speaks for itself.” To find out what exactly went down and what fans can expect from the project, here’s everything you need to know about the Alanis Morissette documentary Jagged, including how to watch, what it’s about—and how the Canadian crooner made history with Jagged Little Pill.

What is the Alanis Morissette documentary?

The latest documentary on the singer is called Jagged. Morissette had previously participated in a 2015 documentary called Sensitivein which she’s featured, but that film’s focus isn’t exclusively on her life or her music. As noted in that doc’s official description, “Sensitive—The Untold Story examines in depth the temperament trait of high sensitivity. It is based on the findings of bestselling author-psychologist Dr. Elaine Aron and features Alanis Morissette.”

What is the Alanis Morissette documentary about?

Jagged focuses on the inspiration for and production of Morissette’s iconic debut rock album, Jagged Little Pill. According to The Washington Post, Morissette speaks in the documentary about the statutory rape, sexual assault and harassment she experienced in the music industry when she was a teenager—something she’s previously alluded to in songs like “Hands Clean.” She reportedly says in the film, “It took me years in therapy to even admit there had been any kind of victimization on my part. I would always say I was consenting, and then I’d be reminded like ‘Hey, you were 15, you’re not consenting at 15.’ Now I’m like, ‘Oh yeah, they’re all pedophiles. It’s all statutory rape.’”

How can I watch the Alanis Morissette documentary?

Jagged premieres Friday, Nov. 19, 2021 on HBO and HBO Max.

What is Alanis Morissette doing now?

Morissette is currently on tour and continues releasing new music. Her most recent release is the studio album Such Pretty Forks In the Road, which dropped in July 2020.

What is Alanis Morissette’s net worth?

Morissette’s net worth is estimated at $45 million.

How old is Alanis Morissette?

Morissette is 47 years old as of this writing and was born on June 1, 1974 in the Canadian capital of Ottawa.

What disease does Alanis Morissette have?

Morissette has been open about her struggles with addiction, depression (especially postpartum depression), and disordered eating. “If I didn’t have a whole team of therapists throughout my life, I don’t think I’d still be here,” she told The Guardian in July 2020. She sings about her issues in her 2020 hit “Reasons I Drink.”

What is the story behind Jagged Little Pill?

Morissette told The New York Timesthat Jagged Little Pill is an album about loneliness and trauma she suffered in her teens as a child pop star and TV personality in her native Canada, as well as relationships she was in during that period. “I mean, I was flying alone when I was 10. I was going on a music video shoot with four men to Europe when I was 14,” she said. “I was always the one that everyone was like, ‘She’s going to be fine.’ Meanwhile, I’m like, chewing my nails down to the quick and throwing up and having sexual abuse stories all through my teens.” She added, “I mean, I was just writing about what I was thinking about and mulling over and ruminating, what I was tortured by or yearning for at the time.”

How old was Alanis Morissette on Jagged Little Pill?

Morissette wrote Jagged Little Pill when she was 20; the album was released when she was 21.

Jagged Little Pill sold 30 million copies and won four Grammys. Music criticstend to agree that Morissette’s raw honesty, seething anger and explicit sexuality in her lyrics (previously unheard of for a female artist), combined with her anthemic melodies, came together to make magic.

Is Jagged Little Pill about Ryan Reynolds?

Nope! Jagged Little Pill was written and recorded long before Morissette ever met, let alone dated and got engaged to, Ryan Reynolds. (They broke up in 2007 and never made it down the aisle.) However, Reynolds did appear in her music video for “Everything” from her album So-Called Chaos when they were together.

Does Alanis Morissette have health issues?

Morissette has battled postpartum depression, depression, anxiety, an eating disorder and addiction throughout her life. She told TODAY Parents of her postpartum depression and anxiety, “I had a lot of shame around being medicated, but it kept me alive and I have zero regrets. If it’s needed, just do it.”

Are any of Alanis Morissette’s songs about Ryan Reynolds?

Morissette previously acknowledged that her album Flavors of Entanglement is about her broken engagement to the Deadpool star, especially the song “Torch.” She also noted that the breakup and its fallout made her avoid public romances in the future. “I think it’s the straw that breaks the camel’s back,” she told the Los Angeles Times. “I was a full-blown love addict, so it was like, ‘I can’t keep doing this, my body can’t take it.’ For someone who is a love addict, [breakups are] debilitating.” She added, “I’ve been on a constant journey toward finally surrendering and hitting the rock bottom that I’ve been avoiding my whole life… So this was a huge, critical juncture for me. Everything broke, and it was an amazing and horrifying time.”

Is “You Oughta Know” really about Dave Coulier?

Indeed, “You Oughta Know” is about Full House star Dave Coulier—at least, according to Coulier himself. He told HuffPost Live in 2013 (via Business Insider) that the lyric “I hate to bug you in the middle of dinner” hit home for him and led him to reach out to Morissette, who he dated in the early ’90s. Coulier recalled, “I called her and said, ‘Look, what do you want me to say to the media when these folks call me?’ And she said, ‘You can say whatever you want.’” What he wants to say about her, it seems, is nothing but great things. In a radio interview the following year, Coulier raved about Morissette, declaring, “She is awesome” and that they “parted as friends.” He also shared a very sweet and intimate story about the songstress. “When my sister, Sharon, was in the hospital with terminal cancer, I was in Los Angeles and Alanis came in from Toronto, visited my sister, sat bedside and played guitar for her,” he revealed. When asked if her bedside setlist included “You Oughta Know,” Coulier replied with a laugh, “Yes, she did.” Next, check out 40 second act stories about women who achieved their dreams!

Alanis Morissette  Jagged  Documentary  How to Watch  What It s About And More - 2