This is one of the main reasons that several generations—daughters, moms, and grandmoms—identify with the likable, hard-working members of The Baby-Sitters Club and the new crop of actresses who have stepped into the roles from the books and previous TV shows for Season 2, which begins streaming on Netflix on Monday, October 11, graciously giving these characters new life. It is also the perfect time for Parade.com readers to get to know the seven actresses who are portraying these beloved characters—young entrepreneurs, best pals, family members, and dutiful babysitters who mean so much to us and their community. The leader of the club, Kristy Thomas, (Sophie Grace), is a go-getter tomboy who loves being in charge and tries to ignore her emotions over the many changes in her life. When her mom, Elizabeth Thomas-Brewer (Alicia Silverstone), falls in love and marries her love interest, Watson Brewer (Mark Feuerstein) at the end of Season 1, this upends her life at the beginning of Season 2, starting with moving into a new house and bonding with her quirky new step-sister and step-brother. Malia Baker portrays Mary-Anne Spier, Momona Tamadaplays Claudia Kishi,Shay Rudolphportrays Stacey McGill andXochitl Gomez was portraying Dawn Schafer, and when she left due to scheduling conflicts the role of Dawn was taken over by Kyndra Sanchez. The two new girls in the club areVivian Watson playing Mallory, and Anais Lee portraying Jessi, who joined the cast. Keep reading to find out what the seven members of the heartfelt club in the family-oriented series exclusively shared with Parade.com about friendships, being role models, and girl power.

How do you think young girls can identify with one or more of the characters in The Baby-Sitters Club and what is the show’s approach to exploring friendship?

Sophie Grace (Kristy Thomas): When it comes to friendship, we try to be really inclusive. I think the show does a great job of it because you can look on the screen and you can find someone that looks like you, has the same hobbies as you, and has the same family situations as you. I think the girls in the show really highlight how normal our life is, yet things don’t always work out for us. Like viewers can relate to the fact that Claudia struggles with keeping her grades up and Mary Anne has her first boyfriend and Kristy refuses to have a boyfriend and both of those are totally fine. The show does a great job in showing that whoever you are, you are good enough, and whatever you are doing you are good enough.

What positive values do you see highlighted in The Baby-Sitters Club?

Kyndra Sanchez (Dawn Schafer): I love being part of such an inclusive show that spreads kindness. It’s important to spread kindness and smiles all around. I am like Dawn in that I try to use my voice to advocate for causes that are really close to my heart. For the past six years, I have been raising money for childhood cancer through Alex’s Lemonade in my free time. I also like to volunteer to pick up trash on the beaches. I also bring my guitar and volunteer to sing and play at nursing homes and spread some cheer during the holidays.

How close are the bonds you girls in the cast share personally with one another?

Malia Baker (Mary-Anne Spier): Throughout the first season there were so many moments where it felt like I was actually sharing that time with my best friends. When we were filming the camp scenes it felt like I was at camp with my girlfriends. With the second season, there were many moments where it felt like I was with these girls in my real life; they are truly my chosen family. Just being part of this series that brought us together makes it even more special – it is a passion project for sure. Momona Tamada (Claudia Kishi): I would say that our friendships have literally gotten stronger, and I think they will just continue to grow.  Even when we first met with each other we already had such a strong natural connection, which is very special and rare. Continuing with the second season it has grown even more. I am just so grateful to have all of these girls by my side on the series and in my personal life.

How does art mirror your real life? For example, do you babysit in real life? How do you feel about entrepreneurship?

Shay Rudolph (Stacey McGill): I do. I babysat last week. We played LEGOS pretty much the entire time and it was a lot of fun. I used to babysit for my younger cousins, but now I have upgraded to babysitting on my own with a child in the neighborhood and I enjoy it.  I think being an entrepreneur would be incredible. I admire anybody who creates things on any kind of scale.

Are you like your characters and how important is it to you to serve as a role model for other girls and young women?

Vivian Watson (Mallory Pike): Absolutely. I think our characters are pretty similar in the sense of our friendship – both on and off-screen, I think it will always be strong and we will always be there for one another. As far as role models go, this is a really family-friendly show, and it is so great that people of all ages watch it. So, I think that we have to bring something to the table that they can learn from. I think that by having them watch our uplifting show they will find some happiness and a sense of feeling welcome. That’s what The Baby-Sitters Club is all about.

Do you also feel like you have formed lifelong friendships after joining The Baby-Sitters Club? How important is it for you to be a role model to those who are watching the series?

Anais Lee (Jessi Ramsey): I definitely feel like I’m going to be best friends with these girls for the rest of my life.  After spending every single day together for three and a half months, we have this close bond and we are all like family to one another. We will always be there for each other, just like The Baby-Sitters Club, and how all of them uplift each other and support each other, no matter what. I have always wanted little girls to be able to watch this show and see themselves represented in the characters and to see topics that are discussed that they can relate to. I believe all of that is extremely important. Next, Who’s Ready for Riverdale Season 6? What We Know About the Drama’s Next Season (Which Is Coming Soon!)

Baby Sitters Club Season 2  Exclusive Interview With the Cast - 62Baby Sitters Club Season 2  Exclusive Interview With the Cast - 18Baby Sitters Club Season 2  Exclusive Interview With the Cast - 23Baby Sitters Club Season 2  Exclusive Interview With the Cast - 28