It left an opening for an actor to take over as team leader on the CBS series, and McDermott earned the prize, meaning he landed the role of Special Agent Remy Scott. “I think it’s really an interesting process because I’ve been reading comments online and stuff like that. People are saying, ‘Oh, it’s too soon. He’s Richard Wheatley. He’s a bad guy,’” McDermott told journalists on a Zoom call. “I relish in it because I think it’s amazing that people actually believe that’s the character, that I’m him. They haven’t even seen the episodes by the way. So, I just love that because now they’re going to see me in a completely different light from Richard Wheatley to Remy Scott.” And for McDermott, who not only played the villainous Richard Wheatley, but was also nominated for an Emmy for playing a pimp in Hollywood, and was the bad guy on CBS’ Hostages, it is a nice change of pace going from the darkness into the light. “I knew instinctively that I had been playing some questionable people along the way, and now it was time to play someone good again,” he added. “And Remy Scott is that character. This is a character that’s fully realized when we meet him. You see this guy drive up, and he’s in action right away. You’re going to see so many different facets of this guy that I think you’re going to quickly forget about Richard Wheatley. By the end of [tonight ’s episode], I think you’re going to be like, ‘This is Remy Scott.’” But just because Remy is on the right side of law and order, doesn’t mean he is any less complex than Richard Wheatley or has any less baggage. It’s just that what he’s comprised of manifests itself in different ways. “He’s not just one thing, you know? And that’s what’s cool about him. You know, [executive producer] David [Hudgins] and I were talking about this the other day. You think Remy’s one thing, and all of a sudden, he’ll do something completely different or say something, and he has a great sense of humor.” Replacing an actor, especially the lead of a series isn’t easy, but the two characters are very different and Remy will be bringing a completely new feel to the team in all the best ways, and for McDermott, it was fresh as well. “My first day at work was my introduction to the actors,” McDermott said. “So that was great because Remy was introduced to them and Dylan was introduced to them at the same time. They had asked me, ‘Oh, do you want to meet the actors? Would you like to sit down with them and talk to them?’ I said, ‘No. I want it to be as if it’s Remy’s first day and Dylan’s first day coincides.’ So, that was great because they were checking me out. I was checking them out. It was a little bit awkward. New guy stuff. It actually worked out beautifully.” You can check out Remy Scott for yourself tonight when McDermott begins his role on FBI: Most Wanted at 10 p.m. ET/PT on CBS. Next, FBI: International Joins the CBS Lineup and Showrunner Derek Haas Fills Us In On Everything We Need to Know!

Dylan McDermott on Replacing Julian McMahon as the New Team Leader on FBI  Most Wanted  2022  - 4Dylan McDermott on Replacing Julian McMahon as the New Team Leader on FBI  Most Wanted  2022  - 24Dylan McDermott on Replacing Julian McMahon as the New Team Leader on FBI  Most Wanted  2022  - 87