“I came here because this is what I want to do,” said the 21-year-old caretaker from Douglas, Ga. “I don’t see myself being anything other than a singer. Music has always been a passion to me. To even have this opportunity to audition for American Idol is such a blessing.” It’s a blessing that is only possible for Willie, who had a health scare this past year, because he took control of his well-being. “I turned myself into the hospital to get a checkup because I had pain in my chest and the doctors told me that they found fluid in my lungs,” he recalled. “I weighed 600 pounds. When they told me that, I knew I had to focus more on my health. I went from 600 to 400 pounds.” The fluid in Willie’s chest is now a thing of the past, helped along by healthy eating and by a trainer, who oversees him through his workouts. “If I don’t have good health, I won’t have a career,” Willie said. For his audition, Willie, who was the final performer of the day, sang “Diamonds” by Rihanna, and had the judges walking out of the audition room with smiles on their faces. Willie wasn’t even done singing when Lionel told him, “Yes, yes, yes! Unbelievable. Unbelievable. You have demonstrated exactly what we’ve been looking for. You just brought the artist to the table. Honestly, you are an undeniable star. You my friend are so gifted. On the first note, I had chills. All of your phrasings and all of your expressions, your believability, I can’t tell you how excited I am to have you join us on this show. Really, man. That was just an enjoyable session to watch." “You are a special human being. I didn’t want it to end,” Luke added. For Katy, it was a question: “When you think of your future, knowing the voice you have, because it stops people in their tracks the magic you have, in 5 years, in your wildest dreams, what do you want it to look like if nothing was standing in your way?” “I just want my voice to reach the world and share my gift, hopefully, winning a Grammy one day. That’s where I see myself in 5 years,” Willie responded. “It’s going to take hard work, but I think I can do it.” And while Willie was hoping that American Idol was going to be the place where he would get his start, Luke confirmed it. “That Grammy is attainable, no doubt in my mind,” said the country singer. “When you start singing, I see your lifetime. I see it all. To watch somebody sing from the place I try to sing from, the purest place in the world … it just comes out of your heart and your brain.” It was a no brainer that Willie got his golden ticket, and as he left the audition room, the judges joked with him, “Try not to sing circles around everyone out there. Give them a fighting chance.” American Idol airs Sundays at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC. Next, Is Katy Perry Pregnant on American Idol?

How American Idol Contestant Willie Spence Lost 200 Pounds Before His Audition - 60