After believing that her niece worked for a charitable organization, Aunt Vi recently learned of Robyn’s real work. We sat down with Toussaint to talk about the revelation as well as iconic characters she has played on television. How is Vi’s knowledge of Robyn’s real job going to affect their relationship? Pretty much what you might expect when you realize you’ve been living with a vigilante superhero, it’s gonna take a bit of getting used to. There are adjustments to the household, shall we say? It’s hard to keep secrets, secrets really have a price and I think we’re seeing that the price is just becoming too hard to pay for everyone concerned. Do you think Aunt Vi will get involved in Robyn’s missions? Maybe turn the show into The Equalizers? I sincerely hope so! I’d be happy being the Alfred to her Batman! Aunt Vi and Delilah are pretty close. Will she be able to keep Robyn’s secret from Delilah? It’s not my tale to tell. It’s the mother’s tale to tell. I’m a parent, I don’t envy her. Fifteen, sixteen, that’s a tough age. I love your iconic character from the Law & Order franchise, defense attorney Shambala Green, who was first introduced back in 1990. Your character has since crossed over to Law & Order: SVU and the Chicago franchise. How has it been for you, as an actor, to be such an enduring and commanding character over so many years and shows? I almost crossed over to the new Law & Order: Organized Crime. I almost made it, but we couldn’t quite align our shooting schedules. We tried, we really tried. I think it’s just a matter of time before she shows her locks again. [Dick Wolf] is very committed to his iconic characters, and I am very happy to be one of them. Any stories about how Shambala developed from the start and maybe has evolved over the years, maybe something you felt particularly strongly about? Well, you know, I do, because it was back in the day when… I think I can safely say I was one of the first black women to wear dreadlocks on primetime TV in an ongoing way. I remember many years before this, when Rosalind Cash grew out her locks, she stopped being able to work. When I went on the show, we made a concerted effort and very conscious decision to make her outrageous at the time and make her a bit of a Berkeley militant. Half the time Shambala was wrong but you never knew it. Editor’s note:The distinction of an actor sporting dreadlocks in a regular role on primetime TV may have gone to the character of Denise Huxtable (played by Lisa Bonet) on The Cosby Show or Whoopi Goldberg on Baghdad Cafe. Well, hopefully we’ll be able to see Shambala on Law & Order: Organized Crime at some point. I guarantee you Shambala is not gone. She will be back! Perhaps we’ll see her on one of Dick Wolf’s other shows like FBI or FBI: Most Wanted? Absolutely! He has tried several times, in different incarnations. It’s just a matter of my scheduling and if I’m able to do it. I will always say “Yes” to Shambala. With the events of the last few years, especially Black Lives Matters, what would you say today to your character on Any Day Now? We’ve tried very hard to find ways to find a new home for that show. I firmly believe that that show is desperately needed now. Annie Potts, myself and our creator, Nancy Miller were way ahead of our time. It was timely then, but the issues we dealt with in an extraordinary and transparent way. It’s unfortunate it’s tied up in legalities. Both you and Laya DeLeon Hayes have voiced characters in various animated series. Has this ever come up in conversation for you two and have you exchanged advice about voicing characters? You know we haven’t! I’m so proud of her and her NAACP award for her character. She is a huge talent. You worked with Bridget Fonda on Point of No Return. Do you have any particular memories of working with her or other cast from the film that you’d like to share with our readers? That was such a long time ago! I remember Bridget being very soft spoken and very, very sweet. I always thought she was a bit too sweet for this world—for show business. I had a lovely time—she and I. I remember Harvey Keitel and making the mistake of saying, “Good morning,” to him because he never broke character. It took me a minute to realize that—[his character] was a scary dude. Tell me something I might not know about Queen Latifah. She’s shy. What’s your favorite thing to cook? Ox tails. What’s your all-time favorite book? A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. What’s the last show you binge-watched? Bridgerton. What did you do to keep sane during the pandemic? I gardened. I grew vegetables. I nested. What advice or suggestions would you give to the world right now? Be kind… We really are brothers and sisters. There’s only us. The Equalizer airs Sunday at 8 p.m. ET on CBS. Next, Queen Latifah’s Best Movies Ranked

Lorraine Toussaint Shares Spoilers About The Equalizer Season Final - 12