Read on for my interview with Naseer, and make sure to check in with Parade.com every day for interviews with this season’s contestants and other tidbits. Survivor 41 premieres on September 22 with a special two-hour premiere on CBS. What’s your history with watching Survivor? When my wife and I first met, we were living in a country where dating wasn’t really allowed. Sri Lanka is a third-world country, and my wife is a white American. It was so difficult to go outside. So we mostly hung out in her apartment, where she introduced me to Survivor. It’s her favorite show. I started learning English watching Survivor together. English is my third language. I think in Tamil, then translate and talk in English. Give me one Survivor winner and one non-winner who you identify with the most. Of course, I like Boston Rob! He knows the game inside and out. Period. But for non-winner, I’ll say Phillip Shephard. I love his authenticity. He’s a real human being. He sticks to his word. He never cares about what he says, but he always sticks to the truth. Even at the final Tribal Council, he was talking on behalf of Boston Rob to win the season. He’s a great person. What’s one life experience you feel has prepared you most for the game? I hope to represent myself in a positive light. I know I represent many minority groups: Immigrants, South Asians, and Muslims. Especially to children growing up in poverty, in small villages like I did. I want to inspire them to follow their dreams, like I am, by being on Survivor. I want my kids, family, and friends to be proud of me. What do you think people will perceive you as? For some people, it may be difficult. I’m an extrovert, but I don’t interact with as many people as I used to. Now I’m going to play Survivor, dealing with all these personalities. And with this season going to be 26 days, it’s going to be an intense season. There are a lot of expectations from all over the world for me. I’m so proud and happy I can be part of it. I feel equally included in this diverse group without any hesitation. What do you desire in an alliance partner? I have strong morals in my personal life. In Survivor, anything goes. That’s the beauty of this game. But loyalty is very important to me. At the same time, I would only trust someone at the same level as they trust me. What’s your current game plan for when you touch down on the Survivor beach? I don’t have any game plan. On Survivor, you don’t have a game plan. Even if you go in with one, something different happens. But for me, the first thing is to build a shelter and provide for the tribe. And of course, socialize with people and get to know them. Go with the flow! What will people underestimate in you the most on Survivor? They’ll underestimate my language barrier. I’m fluent in Tamil and Sinhala. They make me think, “Okay, I can use Naseer for numbers only.” But they don’t know my background, and they won’t know my gameplay or strategy. And it’s good to be like that. Because then I can be sneaky! How much authenticity do you plan on bringing into the game? I’ll be very authentic. I’m going to love every single minute and enjoy every single moment and appreciate my time in this life-changing experience. When I lived in Sri Lanka for 18 years, we grew up poor. Our home was a mud hut, barely better than a Survivor shelter. There was no running water, no electricity. Our toilet was just a hole in the ground, just like this coconut grove over here. It’ll be authentic to how I used to live back in Sri Lanka. I’m going back to basics in my life. Which is more important to your game: Strategy or social? I would say both! It’s a complete package. If you’re social, it doesn’t mean you can win Survivor. If you’re a challenge beast, you can’t win. You have to have a little bit of everything. When you’re at your lowest moment in the game, what’s one happy memory you’ll pull from in your time of need? Of course, my kids. When I’m lying on the ground, my son will kiss my forehead (no hair), and my daughter will be painting my nails. They can do anything they want with me. I have great memories of that. What celebrity or fictional character would you want to come out for a Loved Ones visit? I would like Dwayne Johnson. He’s the Rock! You get the opportunity to use magic once while playing the game of Survivor. What do you use it for? I would use it to put myself in the Final Three. If I get to the Final Three, I’m guaranteed to win the million dollars. My gameplay, story, and authenticity will give me the million dollars. Next, check out our interview with Survivor 41 contestant Shantel Smith.

Naseer Muttalif   Survivor 41 Cast Member - 3