We also got The O.C. alum to reveal her favorite Orange County restaurant and the #1 snack she used to devour on set back in the day. Keep reading for the highlights and for Bilson’s favorite Banana Oat Pancakes recipe!

What’s your diet like these days?

We really try to be creative and healthy in my household. We’re big fans of incorporating plant-based things into our life, and Planet Oat Milk has made that so easy. We love doing breakfast experiments with Planet Oat.

What do you feed your daughter at home?

My daughter loves oats in general, so we are big on overnight oats, oatmeal pancakes and oat milk. Think of me as an oat household. She really loves to experiment, which I’m lucky. Not all kids are okay with that.

What are some of your must-have appliances in the kitchen?

Huge believer in toaster ovens. Any time I’m with someone, I’m like, “you need to get a toaster oven.” I am big into coffee as well, so having a good, quiet coffee grinder is a must.

What dishes have you been making this summer?

We love making popsicles and, in particular, we love using the Planet Oat Chocolate Milk to make fudgesicles. My daughter loves a fudgesicle. I like doing things in the kitchen with my daughter, so anything that can incorporate that, we’re big on.

What did you learn in the kitchen during the pandemic?

It’s okay to experiment, and it’s okay to relinquish control when your daughter wants to make up recipes.

How has your diet changed over the years?

We definitely try to focus on less dairy in our house. It really helped my daughter’s skin clear up. She was having some eczema, and when we stopped dairy, it went away. So, that was a huge eye-opener for us just seeing how much you diet can basically control things that are happening with your body.

What did you used to eat on set when filming The O.C.?

Oh gosh. My main snack my whole life—if I see it I will eat it—Flamin’ Hot Cheetos or any kind of Cheetos. A total opposite of what we’re talking about now.

Any other guilty pleasures?

Flamin’ Hot Cheetos and cookies. I have a big sweet tooth, so I’m huge on donuts and cinnamon buns.

What’s on your go-to summer entertaining menu?

I have this corn salad that my sister-in-law discovered. It is so good. It’s like roasted corn or grilled corn and lime and jalapeño and tomato and avocado and cilantro. That’s my go-to summer salad. You know what’s so fun for kids is watermelon and you dip the edges in Pop Rocks candy. That’s a fun trick.

What are your favorite places to eat in the OC?

Sidecar Donuts is my favorite. My favorite donut ever is their Buttersalt Donut.

Rachel Bilson Diet  What Rachel Bilson Eats In a Day - 60Rachel Bilson Diet  What Rachel Bilson Eats In a Day - 97Rachel Bilson Diet  What Rachel Bilson Eats In a Day - 76