When confident and headstrong chefs work together, they can be as incongruent as beer and coffee. Not the case for Sasha Grumman. Despite anxiety to socialize after a year in quarantine and sobriety, she excelled in the first Quickfire Challenge, earning immunity alongside teammates Kiki Louya and Sara Hauman. And when she partnered up with new friend Brittanny Anderson, it seemed like a match made in heaven. But it all went to hell in a pork loin, as their dish was deemed as lacking a point of view, rather seeming like two concepts put together rather than a unified concept. Between the partners, Sasha’s Romesco took the fall, leaving a bitter taste that the judges ironically didn’t get with the dish. Read on to hear Sasha’s thoughts on her time in the game, and check out Last Chance Kitchen to watch her and other eliminated chefs fight for redemption and a chance to get back into the competition. What compelled you to apply for Top Chef, especially in the middle of the pandemic when things are so hard on the restaurant industry? When Top Chef reached out, I was floored! The world had just turned upside down, but this great news came through, and it was a saving grace. It was a “when will a more perfect time to compete come around?” type of moment. It was something to look forward to and be excited about last year, and it kept me on track and focused on my goals. My mantra before being chosen for Top Chef and still now is “if you are constantly preparing, you will be ready when the opportunity presents itself.” I worked on my skills and mental tricks, which helped me become a more focused and driven person during one of the hardest times of our lives. You spoke about your struggles with alcohol and getting sober in the past year. How did it feel to come on and share your story in the stresses of Top Chef? I would do it again a million times! I would cry on national TV all over again! Even in just the brief time since the show, I have received incredible messages from people struggling with addiction, recovery stories, and people with loved ones that are struggling. We say something in sobriety rooms, “The new people keep me sober.” And it’s so true! This jolt of fresh energy has reminded me to stay active with my quest never to drink again and to connect with people at all stages of addiction. I’m really looking forward to more and more connections! You win the first Quickfire Challenge alongside Kiki and Sara. What did it feel like to win the very first challenge of the season? It felt so awesome! Man, that release of anxiety and fear just went out the window. I think I come off as light and happy for most of the competition, and I think winning that first challenge had a lot to do with my confidence and composure throughout the competition. At the same time, you end up at the bottom during the first Elimination Challenge for your polenta. Though you were immune, how did hitting the bottom so quickly make you feel? Honestly, it was ok! I was not surprised because there is so much talent in that room. But, also, there’s so much y’all don’t see. I know in my heart why all of that happened, and it’s ok. I had immunity. That’s what it’s for! We see in this episode you made a close connection with Brittanny. How did that relationship come about? We met right before the show, and we knew then that we were kindred spirits. You know that feeling when you just connect with someone?! We were that. Sparks. Love. And a lifelong friend! What was the planning process like for your beer and coffee dish, given how you planned your separate dishes originally? We stand behind it! We knew we could have scrapped what we did and did something new. But I still believe our elements can work together. If we executed our separate elements perfectly, I think we’d be having a very different conversation right now. Were you surprised at the judges’ comments about how your dish felt so divided, given how well you and Brittanny got along? I was surprised. But also, it is what it is. That day it just didn’t come together for us, and that’s ok. Failing on national TV and showing grace with criticism is more powerful for me than I could have imagined. Similarly, were you surprised your efforts on the dish caused you to be eliminated before Brittanny? How can you choose?! Either way is a lose/lose. At the end of the day, I was in the bottom twice, and it felt predictable that I would be sent home. You mentioned how awkward you felt engaging with people again after time in lockdown. Were you still able to make meaningful connections during your time on Top Chef? (Laughs.) I’m not even sure why I said that because I’m a social bug. Maybe it was sober connecting that was tough! I made so many great connections on the show, from producers to camera technicians to chefs and judges. I really got along well with everyone, and I’m so grateful Top Chef does such a wonderful job of bringing people together. Finally, is there any advice you have for chefs and diners out there during these difficult times? This is the time to ask hard questions about what you want and who you want to be! This time of challenge and maybe pause won’t come around again, so take advantage of it. I will continue to read every book Brene Brown writes, listen to the “Daily Stoic “podcast every morning on my walks with Aspen, and ride my Peloton to stay sane and keep moving forward. Find what works for you and go after it, and don’t stop going after your dreams. They are closer than you think. Next, check out our interview with Episode 1 boot Roscoe Hall.

Top Chef Season 18   Sasha Grumman Exit Interview - 16