The act that was so honored was country singers Chapel Hart, comprised of sisters Danica and Devynn Hart along with their first cousin Trea Swindle. “I used to love American girl bands from the ‘90s,” Simon said before they performed. “Do you want to bring that back?” “Yes,” they chorused in unison. The trio from Mississippi performed an original song, “You Can Have Him Jolene.” “We have always been country music fans and Dolly Parton is by far our favorite,” Danica said. “We were so inspired by the song ‘Jolene’ and we loved the storyline but we figured from 1973 to 2022, they should not still be fighting over the same man. So, we decided to tell them, ‘You Can Have Him Jolene.’” A standing ovation with the audience calling for a “Golden Buzzer” followed their performance. “Trust me. I needed you today,” Simon told the group. “That was fantastic. I loved it and I loved the choreography going on around you. It was brilliant. Let me ask you a question. Have you been trying to get a record deal or a big break?”
“We’ve been trying to break into Nashville for a couple of years, but it’s been real hard. Country music doesn’t always look like us,” Danica said with tears streaming down her cheeks. “You’ve got to break down that door, and you may have broken down the door with that performance,” Simon said, encouragingly. “I loved the song, I loved the energy, I loved the look,” Howie added. “You say country music doesn’t look like you? That was your win because you are going to be the original.” “Your joy is infectious,” Heidi said. “Everything that you’re giving, it’s received over here. I loved it.” Sofia agreed, saying, “Everything was perfect – the song, the energy. You guys look like you’ve been doing this for a long time. I’m so proud of you guys.” Then Simon added, “If I hadn’t used my Golden Buzzer, I would give you a Golden Buzzer.” “Me, too,” Heidi agreed. Trea encouraged them, “You can give it a try if you want.” The audience once again began to chant, “Golden Buzzer, Golden Buzzer.” The judges conferred, Terry came down from the stage and, for only the second time in the history of Golden Buzzers, a group Golden Buzzer was awarded. America’s Got Talent airs Tuesday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Next, It’s an America’s Got Talent First when Howie Mandel Picks His Golden Buzzer!